New Zealand rolls out its own ESTA-style visa waiver for visitors

Most international travellers visiting New Zealand will soon be required to obtain an Electronic Travel Authority before entering the country.

The New Zealand Electronic Travel Authority (NZeTA) will be necessary for visa-free entry to New Zealand as of October 1, 2019.

Australian citizens travelling to New Zealand on an Australian passport will be exempt from the NZeTA requirement, owing to the strong bilateral deal between the two nations.

However, permanent residents of Australia who are not Australian citizens and thus hold another country’s passport will need to obtain an NZeTA – as will visitors from other visa-waiver countries like the United States, Canada and the UK.

Most travellers applying for an NZeTA will also need to pay the Government’s new International Visitor Conservation and Tourism Levy as part of the process, although that additional cost will be waived for Australian permanent residents.

New Zealand Electronic Travel Authority, Tourism Levy pricing

The cost of obtaining an NZeTA will be NZ$9 when completed via the mobile app, or NZ$12 when completed online.

The New Zealand Electronic Travel Authority will be valid for two years or until the traveller’s passport expires, whichever comes first.

A single NZeTA covers multiple entries into New Zealand for business or tourism – you don’t need to re-apply with every journey, or separately for holidays and business trips – although passengers in international transit will still require an NZeTA, even if they don’t cross the border into NZ.

You can visit the New Zealand Immigration website for details and if you require further information, please do not hesitate to contact the CBT Team (07) 3393 1833.

Thank you

Simon McLean

Back to news index